
 

Notice of Public Hearing 

Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) chapter 91, notice is hereby given that the 

Department of Public Safety (DPS) will hold a public hearing for the proposed amendment to 

chapter 23-202, Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR), Medical Use of Marijuana, to increase the 

registration fees for qualifying patients in accordance with Act 173, Session Laws of Hawaii 

(SLH) 2011. 

Subject and Purpose 

Section 23-202-5. Fees for registration and re-registration. This section is being 

amended to increase the annual registration fee for qualifying patients from $25 to $35 

and to increase the fee for duplicate registration from $10 to $15. 

Hearing Date 

The Public Hearing for the proposed changes to chapter 23-202, HAR, will be held on 

October 30, 2014 at 2:00 p.m. at: 

Department of Public Safety 

919 Ala Moana Boulevard 

5th Floor Conference Room 

Honolulu, Hawaii  96814 

Testimony 

All interested persons shall be afforded an opportunity to submit testimony orally or in 

writing at the time of hearing.  Others who are unable to attend the public hearing may 

submit their written testimony to DPS by mail to 919 Ala Moana Boulevard, Room 400, 

Attention Natalie Wagatsuma, Honolulu, Hawaii 96816, or by email at 

DPS.MMJ.Testimony@hawaii.gov, or by fax to (808) 587-1282.  All testimonies must be 

received no later than October 28, 2014, 4:30 p.m. 

Viewing Proposed Changes 

A copy of the proposed rule change may be viewed: 

• On the internet, free of charge, at dps.hawaii.gov/administrative-rules; or 

• Via email, free of charge, by making a request to DPS at 

DPS.MMJ.Testimony@hawaii.gov; or 

• In person, free of charge, between 8 am and 4 pm, Monday through Friday, excluding 

State holidays, at 919 Ala Moana Boulevard, Room 400, Honolulu, Hawaii 96814;  or 



• Via mailed copies, assuming the requestor pays the appropriate fee for copies and 

postage, by making a request to DPS by calling (808) 587-1288. 

 

Special Accommodations 

Persons requiring special assistance, accommodations or services (i.e. sign language interpreter, 

large print, accessible parking) should call (808) 587-1288 at least ten (10) business days before 

the hearing. 


