Who is Eligible

You may be eligible for compensation if you are the victim or surviving family member of a victim of one of the following crimes that occurred in the jurisdiction of Hawai‘i:

  • Murder I or II
  • Manslaughter
  • Negligent Homicide I or II
  • Negligent Injury I or II
  • Assault I, II or III
  • Sexual Assault I, II, III or IV
  • Kidnapping
  • Abuse of a Family or Household Member
  • International Terrorism (a Hawai‘i resident who is a victim of international terrorism)

AND you are:

  • A victim who was injured as a result of the crime
  • A person responsible for the maintenance of the victim who has suffered monetary loss because of the victim’s death or injury.
  • A person engaged in business or educational activity at the scene of a mass casualty (mental health counseling expenses only).
  • A relative of a deceased victim who has incurred medical or funeral expenses as the result of the victim’s death or injury.
  • A dependent of a deceased victim.

If I am eligible, what benefits do I receive?